Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I don’t know how many of you watch YouTube regularly, or how many of you are subscribed to TheFineBros, but they make react videos featuring elders, teens, kids, and YouTubers. Their latest “Kids React” video is of kids reacting to…Walkman’s! Their reactions and faces were priceless when they saw Walkman’s. Only one knew exactly what it is and how it works (and she was the youngest one!). The video is hilarious and cute, as always, yet some people took it way too seriously.

Most of the comments I saw – whether they were on YouTube, on articles posted about the video, or on Facebook – were negative. I’d say 95% of them. People were enraged! The comments were filled with people calling these children “spoiled brats” – that was the most common one I saw, in almost every comment it seems. What I don’t understand is how them not knowing what a Walkman is makes them spoiled brats.

These kids’ ages range from 6-13 years old. None of them were born before the year 2000. So why would they know what a Walkman is or how to use it? How many of us know exactly what all our parents and grandparents grew up with, much less how to use them? Every generation is different and has new technology that didn’t exist for the previous ones. That doesn’t make each new generation spoiled. It just makes them different and more technologically advanced.

While I may not have agreed with everything the kids said (like feeling bad for people from the ‘90s), I don’t think they’re “spoiled brats.” They’re just children from a completely different decade and generation than that of the Walkman. Heck, I’m a ‘90s kid and I didn’t even have a Walkman! I’ve never used one – though I know how it works, not that hard to figure it out.

So what do you think? Are they “spoiled brats”, or just children from a different decade and generation (just like we are in comparison to our parents and grandparents)? Take a look at the video below and decide for yourself:

KIDS REACT TO WALKMANS (Portable Cassette Players)