Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

In my last post, I talked briefly about the October Horror Movie Challenge that I decided to participate in. I started a day late, but that’s okay; it doesn’t matter when you start, as long as you watch at least 31 by Halloween night – and they have to be ones you haven’t seen before. I’ve watched 5 so far. I plan to keep you all updated on it as well as provide reviews for the films, in case any of you want to participate and don’t know which movies to watch (and which ones to maybe avoid…’cause they may be terrible).

The first one I watched was called True Bloodthirst (2013). It has one of my favorite actors (Primeval’s Andrew Lee Potts), so I thought I’d give it a try. I liked it, but it’s not one of my favorite horror films. I’ve probably give it a 5.5 out of 10…can’t choose between a 5 or a 6 (and it only would’ve gotten a 6 because Andrew Lee Potts is in it).

The second one was The Pact (2012), which was really good. It’s extremely rare for a horror movie to scare me – only a few out of the hundreds I’ve seen have legitly scared me. This was one of them. I had to cover my eyes a lot of the time, I was terrified! (And watching it alone at night didn’t help either.) It came with a twist too, which made it even scarier. I’d give it a 7/10.

A couple days ago, I watched horror movie #3: The Awakening (2012). That movie was amazing. It also had a huge twist that made it even better than it already was. I’d highly recommend it. I give it an 8/10, or higher.

Then last night, I watched Scarecrow (2013). Now, it’s a Syfy original movie, so it obviously wasn’t great. But it starred Lacey Chabert, one of my favorite actresses. And I’m a sucker for Syfy movies, no matter how bad they may be (Ghost Shark? Sharknado? Really bad, but I still liked them). From the title alone, I could tell it’d be stupid and possibly a desperate attempt at coming up with an idea for a horror movie, but it wasn’t totally unwatchable. I’d say 5/10.

Finally, for today: the remake of Children of the Corn (2009). I never really liked the original anyway, and I wasn’t fond of the remake. I don’t know, there’s just something about murderous children in movies that freaks me out. They’re supposed to be innocent! But in these Children of the Corn films, nope. I don’t like the idea of the film, which made it difficult to even get through it. Plus, the guy’s wife in the movie was hysterical and annoying, which also made it difficult to watch because she irritated me. So overall, I’d say 5/10 at the most.

So yes, those were my films this week. For a horror film that’s really enjoyable, out of those 5, I’d recommend The Awakening. If you want a scare or to get really creeped out, then I’d recommend The Pact.

More to come! 🙂

