Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I was on Facebook this afternoon and saw a link to a picture on a website that typically posts funny or amusing pictures. But it didn’t me laugh. In fact, it angered me. It was insulting and rude, just cruel. There was a picture of women at an average weight, and then below them was a photo of 3 Victoria’s Secret Angels, who of course are rather slim. The top picture had the caption “I think these women are hotter” – only the word “hotter” was crossed out and replaced with the word “fatter.” It just bothers me to no end that a guy would actually make a captioned picture like that.

But that wasn’t the most upsetting part. The comments on the picture were even worse: insulting comments hurled at the thinner women. People saying they looked disgusting, gross, malnourished, anorexic, you name it. I can’t even repeat some of the comments; they were so bad and cruel. They barely even said anything about the women in the top picture, as if it wasn’t okay…yet they were so quick to insult the women in the bottom picture. They’d defend thicker women, saying “Don’t call them fat! That’s so mean!” Yet, they’d go ahead and say terrible things about the thinner women, as if the thinner ones deserved more criticism for their weight.

What I don’t understand is why people think it’s okay to say, “She’s so skinny,” but it’s not okay to say, “She’s so fat.” There is no difference, people. Making comments about someone else’s weight is never okay. It’s no one’s business but theirs, and maybe their doctors if they’re in danger due to their weight.

I’ve dealt with that myself, being on the receiving end. It’s hurtful. It’s annoying. It’s rude. It’s cruel. It’s inappropriate and unacceptable. And most of all, it’s none of your business. I mean hey if you’re going to make insulting comments about someone’s weight, why not say something about their skin color, their sexual orientation, their health condition(s), their family, etc. NONE of that is okay and none of your business, so why is talking about someone’s weight okay? Why do people consider it more acceptable to talk about someone’s weight if that person is “skinny” but not if they’re “fat”? (I hate both of those words, personally, but I’m just trying to make a point here.)

Some people have a hard time gaining weight, either because of genetics or because of a health condition. I’m one of those people. Others, on the other hand, have a hard time losing weight, also because of genetics or maybe a health condition as well. How is that any of your business? Just because someone is really thin, that doesn’t mean that they have an eating disorder. Likewise, just because someone is thicker than someone else, that doesn’t mean that they’re a couch potato who eats all day.

I understand that stereotyping is more common than ever, and I don’t know if it will ever go away or stop. I know it’s a quick thing in our minds, we naturally stereotype without even meaning to, and that’s sad. But that doesn’t mean that we need to verbalize them. I wish people would quit thinking the way those commenters do. But if you’re not going to try to stop, at least keep your cruel and stereotyping thoughts to yourself.

By the way, I’m using the general “you” here, not aimed any specific person…except maybe those commenters.

I may seem like an overly sensitive, ranting lunatic to some people right now, especially those who think that what those commenters said is okay. And yes I may be sensitive, but who’s to say that’s a bad thing? I’ve dealt with weight issues in the past, and a big part of the reason was others constantly commenting on my weight when I was a teenager. People don’t realize the impact their words can have on others…and sadly, some don’t care.

The point here: Another person’s weight is none of your business. Everyone is different. Everyone’s body is different. Everyone’s genetics are different. Some have health conditions that influence weight gain/loss or even control it. Some people are thicker than others. Some are thinner than others.

Get.over.it.

