Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It’s been a couple weeks since my last post, if I remember correctly. I said then that I would be super busy with studying and midterms, essays, reading, etc. I took 3 of my midterms the week before Spring Break (can’t believe Spring Break is already over!), and I don’t know my grades for them yet – I’m currently going nuts while waiting for them to be posted. I wrote 3 essays plus a research paper – I did very well on the essays, still don’t know my grade for the research paper yet (yes, also going nuts over that too since I submitted it almost 2 weeks ago). Now I’m catching up on my reading for humanities, which I’m LOVING.

I’ve always loved philosophy; and right now, I’m reading Marcus Aurelius’s Meditations, which is really good. He had some great viewpoints on how to live a good and fulfilling life. He didn’t believe in focusing on material things, to be kind and fair towards others, to be slow to anger and quick to make peace, to not be quick at finding faults in others and to try to see the good in everyone, to love your family dearly, to be truthful and to love truth, to practice self-control, to always try to be happy even the worst of circumstances, and so on. And all of that is just in the first chapter (or Book I) alone. There are 12 “Books” in Meditations, and each one is filled with so much wisdom and a reassurance of how to treat others and yourself in the best way possible, so that you can live a life of good and happiness, even when life (and other people) tries to get you down. I’d suggest reading it. It’s so good.

Anyway, I’ll get back to reading it now and I will post again later (and hopefully in less than 2 weeks!). 🙂

