This is something that took me a long time to learn myself. I’ve been mistreated by more people than I can count, and I always thought it was me. “Why am I so worthless? Why am I so ‘abuse-able’? It has to be me if people keep treating me like crap.” I thought that way everyday for years, until one day I decided that I wasn’t going to think that way anymore. There are plenty of people in my life (family, friends, boyfriend, etc.) who are always willing to show me how much I’m worth to them. And that’s enough for me. No more pity party. It won’t do anything for you except drag you down. And the more you think that way about yourself, the easier it will be for others to keep treating you like dirt.

As it was said in the wonderful movie The Perks of Being a Wallflower, “we accept the love we think we deserve.” So if we convince ourselves, or allow others to convince us, that we’re not worth anything or that we deserve to be treated like crap, we’re only making it that much easier for others to treat us that way. We start to feel inclined to get attached to people who will hurt us. I’ve been there. I was there for years. But I got out and I’m free. I don’t waste time with people who don’t care about me or who treat me like I’m nothing, because I know that’s not true.

Only keep people in your life who lift you up, not tear you down. You’re worth more than that. Now say it ’til you mean it. Someday, you will believe it.

Positive Outlooks Blog

The way people treat you is a statement about who they are as a human being. It is not a statement about you. — Unknown

treat

View original post

