Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Moon

With all the chaos, stress, and pure hectic-ness of this semester, I’ve been so busy that I’ve forgotten to take time out of my day everyday and think about all the small things in life that are so meaningful. When you’re super duper stressed, it’s so easy to look at the negative things and get frustrated, angry, and even sad. It’s harder to stay positive. That’s one of my biggest weaknesses: I’m a pessimist. Big time. Not gonna lie. But I’m trying to change that.

Lately, I’ve been trying to look at things in a more positive light. Instead of thinking about everything that’s going wrong or everything that’s upsetting me or hurting me, I try to focus my thoughts and my attention on what makes me smile everyday. And all the sudden, all the negative things don’t seem as bad. Funny how that works, huh? So tonight, I was stressed and a bit upset about some stuff. Then I randomly looked up at my window.

I saw the moon, almost a full moon. A waxing gibbous (one of the lunar phases, in case y’all aren’t familiar with that term). It was shining in through my window, bright and white. It was beautiful. My mood was instantly lifted. I never used to appreciate the beauty and light of the moon, but tonight I did.

There are so many amazing things in our world and our lives every single day that we never stop to notice and appreciate. So learn to appreciate the small things, like I did with the moon. (Well, that’s a large thing, but you know what I mean.)

I also stopped to take a picture of it, as you can see. Beautiful, isn’t it?

