Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I know I haven’t made an original post on here in a while. I’ve been doing summer classes all summer, and I’ve been working on one speech after another lately. It’s hard to find time to get everything done and make daily blog posts between classes, tests, speeches, my personal life, and my hobbies. But today, I am making time.

I’ve been thinking lately about how I can make something of my life, starting now. It’s hard to decide which direction to go and which path to take when I’m feeling pulled in so many directions. I said in my introduction post that I love psychology and am currently pursuing a degree in it. This is so that (1) I can have a good degree to fall back on and (2) I can work in counseling someday, which will happen if pursuing film production and other dreams doesn’t work out. I also said that I love film production. I’d love to work behind the scenes in Hollywood someday, which I’d have to go to film school for. It’s been a dream of mine since I was 10 years old.

However, for the past year or two, I’ve been thinking about also publishing my poetry and photography. I’d love to be a writer, a photographer, a screenwriter, and a counselor someday. Those are all interests of mine, but can I really be all 4? I don’t think so, not all at the same time anyway. So ‘til I get my degree in psychology and ‘til I go to and finish film school after that, I’ll be working on my poetry and photography.

You don’t have to wait ‘til you’re out of college to make something of yourself and your life. Start now! If you’re great at poetry, then try to get it copyrighted and find a place where you can publish it, or enter it into a poetry contest. If you’re great at photography, enter photography contests – they often offer cash prizes. Winners may also have their photos published in magazines and may get publicity; some even win dream vacations. If you love singing, try performing at different places with different sized crowds; maybe even look at agents. If you love acting, try out for a play or take an acting class. Start following your dreams now. Life is short, so live it and make something of it!

